Lazy weekend

This weekend was an indulgent lazy weekend, my favourite kind.  Carlo doesn’t often get Saturday and Sunday off so spending two days together felt special.

We started off the weekend with a musical.  We saw Once at the Royal Alex.  I loved it.  We were way up in the nosebleed section, but it was still a great view.  I’m a big fan of the original movie and I was worried that I wouldn’t enjoy hearing the actors sing the music because I love the original so much.  Not a problem.  The actors were very good and extremely talented.  I loved seeing them dance with their instruments while singing and creating the scenes within the setting of an Irish pub.

2014-01-03 Once 2014-01-03 19.03.03

After the show, we had a very cold walk home, so we stopped and had a sausage and a pint at Wurst.  I thought it was just a hotdog place, but it’s a very cool restaurant/bar and it was packed!

On Saturday and Sunday, there was a lot of TV watching from the comfort of the couch in our pjs.  We finally watched the last episodes of Breaking Bad.  That show was so good, I didn’t want it to end.  I found myself holding my breath at times because I was nervous to see what was going to happen next!  Now we need a new show.  I’m hoping to catch up on Season 3 of Game of Thrones and Downton Abbey is on TV again!

We also got in some post-holiday sale shopping, I can’t believe we went to a mall on a Saturday, it was crazy busy.

I started a new book on Sunday morning.  I decided to join in with A Beautiful Mess on their book club.  I haven’t been reading much lately, and I thought that some external motivation would be helpful.  We are reading The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer.  I was aided by a cup of coffee in my new Bowie mug and enjoyed one last morning by the Christmas tree before taking it down.

2014-01-05 09.13.36-1

We also started up our New Year’s tradition of collecting memories in a jar.  I saw the idea on Pinterest last year and we gave it a try.  I loved it.  Throughout the year, anytime something memorable happens, write it on a piece of paper and put it in the jar.  On New Year’s Day, we got to read about our year one memory at a time.  It was a great reminder of how many fun things we did.  It ranged from big things like my sister’s wedding, to little inside jokes or a nice dinner at home.  We’re definitely going to keep this one going in 2014.

2014-01-05 09.11.42

Our jar already has a few papers inside.

Leave a Reply

