Little Garden

I have always wanted to try my hand at growing vegetables, but never had a yard or garden. We still don’t, but Carlo and I decided to jump in and try it in containers on our deck.  We looked up some tips online and learned about self-wicking continers on youtube.  I hope these will help us when we’re away for the weekend.

We planted some Beefsteak tomatoes, Swiss chard and Sweet 100 cherry tomatoes.  They are all supposed to thrive in full sun, and that’s good, because they live on our 3rd floor deck and there is no shade at all.

2014-05-25 10.39.22

 

I think we were premature, but we couldn’t help ourselves and harvested a few leaves from our Swiss chard.  Although young, they were delicious and I hope the plant thrives so that we can eat it all the time 🙂

2014-06-09 19.01.30

 

We went away to the cottage last weekend and some of our containers dried out a little, but look what I found last night

2014-06-19 19.55.24 2014-06-19 19.55.36

We have tomatoes!  I will try to keep them alive until they’re ripe.

 

One thought on “Little Garden

Leave a Reply

